GW Link

Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Leadership Excellence in Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Awards

Awards to USA Youth-Serving Groups to Recognize
Child Abuse Prevention

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

The Redwoods Group Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards to USA YMCAs, Nonprofit resident camps, Boys & Girls Clubs, and Jewish Community Centers to recognize effective child abuse prevention measures. Winners must exemplify excellence in innovation and leadership in practice around the critical topic of prevention of child sexual abuse.

The Redwoods Group Foundation will make financial awards using the 10 Child Safe Standards as its guideposts—with a particular focus on principle number one (“child safety is embedded in institutional leadership, governance and culture”).  The Foundation hopes to learn about and encourage innovative and creative ways organizations across the country are protecting children from child sexual abuse—both within their walls and in the communities they serve. 

The Excellence in Child Protection Awards will be awarded to organizations demonstrating innovative, consistent, effective deployment of measures to prevent and keep children safe from child sexual abuse.

The Champion of Children Award will be awarded to an organization who exemplifies superb leadership on child protection and is a shining example of an innovative culture of safety.

The following are examples of practices that demonstrate baseline institutional leadership and child-safe culture:

  • Organization publicly commits to child safety and leaders champion a child safe culture.
  • Child safety is a shared responsibility at all levels of the institution.
  • Child safety is contained in all staff and volunteer position descriptions.
  • Child protection training is offered several times throughout the year for staff and volunteers.
  • Board members participate yearly in a facilitated drill on appropriate response to historic allegations of abuse.
  • Signage and messaging in the facilities reflect the importance of a culture of safety.
  • Organization participates annually in the Five Days of Action.
  • Organization engages parents and community in child sexual abuse prevention training and events throughout the year.
  • Risk management strategies focus on preventing, identifying and mitigating risks to children.
  • Staff and volunteers comply with a code of conduct that sets clear behavioral standards towards children.
  • Leadership consistently begin staff meetings with child safety moments.

Winners will actively engage in the practices noted above, and demonstrate taking some of these practices to a higher level.

For example:

  • In addition to participating in the Five Days of Action on social media, the organization collaborates with key community leaders to create a video on the importance of child sexual abuse prevention.
  • The organization convenes and leads other youth serving organizations in collaborative efforts to promote child safety.
  • Back to school or camp kick off events include child sexual abuse prevention information and events for parents.

Winners are encouraged to use award funds to expand their culture of safety.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 186524

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Estimated Size of Grant:

Top prize: $5,000 Champion of Children Award
Excellence in Child Protection Awards: Four awards of $2,500 each

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Boys & Girls Clubs, Jewish Community Centers, Non-Profit Resident Camps and YMCAs are eligible to apply. Applicant organizations do not have to be a Redwoods customer, and customer status will not be a factor in the decision-making process.

Pre-Application Information:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

For questions, contact:
Robin Rennells, Grant Administrator

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming